And on a completely different subject…

I finished a quilt top today.  Not just any quilt top, but my flame quilt top, which I’ve been working on, off and on, for about a year and a half now, from fabric selection to hemming and hawing about how to do non-half-square triangles (I wound up cutting the diamond blocks using templates, and rotary cutting the others), to cutting the pieces to sewing the blocks to sewing the blocks into a top.

It’ll probably be a while before I get around to quilting it.  I’m a hand quilter, and I have two other projects to finish first (a throw that will be a wedding present for my nephew in July, and the Yule Log Cabin quilt that I am going to be sleeping under this coming December come hell or high water).  So I probably won’t start quilting it till at least Thanksgiving.  But the top is finished, and here’s the proof:

                                     

The golds look a bit more brown in these photos than they do in real life, but otherwise it looks exactly as I had planned.  Which doesn’t happen very often.
Houston, we have quilt top!

Categories: quilting | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “And on a completely different subject…

  1. It is absolutely gorgeous.

  2. Thank you!

  3. It is beautiful–I remember admiring it in some earlier stage too. Congrats on Quilt Top!

  4. I posted a photo several months ago after I had all the blocks constructed. This is one of those major productions where I feel like I need to celebrate every single milestone [g]. I will probably post more photos again after it's quilted.

  5. The quilt is beautiful! Congratulations. I love to piece tops, but I'm not much of an actual quilter. Hence several folded unfinished tops tucked away… sigh…

  6. Ah. You're a topper [g]. My favorite part of the process is actually the hand quilting. I'm just sort of insane that way…

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

