Happy Thanksgiving

In spite of  the L-tryptophan-induced drowsiness from too much turkey (and too much pie, and way too much of my friend L’s magnificent mashed potatoes), here I am to make a list of what I am thankful for.  This also gives me a great excuse if I forget anything.

So, out of order, although there probably is a particular order I should be putting them in:

I’m thankful that any economic/financial issues I may have are decidedly first-world ones.  I have a lovely roof over my head, more than adequate nutrition and clothing, and a great many of my wants as well as my needs are mine to use and enjoy.

I’m thankful for the traveling I’ve been able to do.

I’m thankful for the fledgling business that is my day job.  I’m thankful that I find it interesting and challenging, and to be able to find people willing to pay me to do it.  There are times I wish it could be doing better, but if there are reasons it isn’t, well, it’s probably because I don’t devote myself to it singlemindedly 24/7/365.  And I don’t want to.  So it’s my choice, and I’m satisfied with it.

I’m thankful for my friends.  I have some seriously wonderful friends, and you know who you are.

I’m thankful my 88-year-old mother is still going strong and maintaining her independence.

I’m thankful for the new cats in my life.  I never thought I would appreciate two healthy normal untraumatized kittens so much as I have since the fiasco last year.  The boys eat what I put in front of them, they drink enough water, they use the litterbox religiously, they’re beautiful, playful, and affectionate, and I really couldn’t ask for more.

And I am thankful for being able to write, and for those who have read and enjoyed my books.  I hope to keep writing for as long as I can, and I hope people keep enjoying what I write for as long as I can write it and beyond.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Categories: food, philosophy, travel | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

